Show add to calendar option

Add about section

Video call link

Scheduling options

Give extra rights to your members:

Content editing (available in program and content circles only)

Circle creation (available in program and content circles only)

For discussions:

Message posting (available in discussion circles only)

Reflection settings (available in discussion circles only)

Show members

Member email privacy

New member notifications

Parent circles

Max number of people who can join this circle

A circle has tremendous flexibility, much of which can be controlled from the circle settings. To access the circle settings go inside this circle, click on Manage on the top menu and select Additional settings.

This article will cover the Additional settings section of a circle's settings.

Read more about the Main settings here: Manage your program. Main settings.

Show add to calendar option

You can create an event for your participants inside your program space so that they can add it to their calendar and have all the necessary information prior to the event.

Here you can set the date and time of an event or a session.

Add about section

You can write a few words about your program space or sub circles within it (discussion or content). Here I wrote a short description of an event but you can add one to any circle of your program.

The participants will be able to see this description if they click on the three dots and select the About tab from the dropdown menu:

Optional step: If you also choose both Show add to calendar option and Add about description the participants will see this description when they add an event to their calendar:

Video call link

Here you can insert a link to a video conference, such as Zoom or Google meet.

Members can link to the video call by clicking on the three dots and selecting the Video call tab from the dropdown menu:

Scheduling options

You can schedule the sub circles within your program for publishing. Scroll down to see the Scheduling options, opt for Publish on date and set the date. After that, close the window.

After that you'll see this circle in a light orange frame with a Publishing note. Your participants will not see this circle until its publication date.

Note: The platform will use the time zone of your computer.

You as a manager will be able to see the circles scheduled for publishing if you go to your program circle and click on Manage on the top menu bar:

Read more about scheduling here.

Content editing

Note: available in program and content circles only.

This setting allows you to set content in this circle to be editable by members of this circle. By default, no one in the circle can create and edit content. You can set this to open so that other members can create and edit resources. This is useful if you're running a collaborative learning experience and want others to contribute to the group content. For example, you can give the content editing rights only in a particular content circle and have it closed in the rest of your program space.

Circle creation

Note: available in program and content circles only.

This setting allows you to specify if members are allowed to create sub circles in your circle. You can also specify what time of sub circles you allow members to create.

Message posting

Note: available in discussion circles only.

By default, discussion circles allow all members to post messages. You can adjust this to only allow managers to post messages by setting the circle to Read only. This is useful if you want to create a circle to post announcements or assignments without a conversation. You can also create a read only circle that has reflections turned on, so that responses can be kept inline to your posts. See the next section on Reflection settings.

Reflection settings

Note: available in discussion circles only.

Reflections allow you to support inline responses to posts. This setting allows you to turn this feature on or off. Turning it off will limit the conversation to just posts.

You can also set up directed responses here. This means that when someone clicks on the Reflect button next to a post they will be prompted with a series of questions to specify. To set this up you create a survey and then select that survey to be part of the reflection dialog. For more details, review the article about reflections.

Show members

This setting allows you to show the members list to your participants. It is set to Show by default.

The participants can see the list of the circle members by clicking on the three dots and selecting the Members tab from the dropdown menu:

Member email privacy

You allow your participants to see the members list you can choose to show or hide their emails. It's set to Closed by default.

New member notifications

This setting allows you to notify the managers when new members join your circle.

Parent circles

Note: You can add sub circles only to program and content circles. You can not add them to discussions.

Here you can change the parent circle or share the sub circle between several parent circles.

How to change the parent circle:

  • Go inside the sub circle you would like to move.

  • Click on Manage and select Additional settings.

  • Scroll down to Parent circles. Here you will see all the circles and sub circles that you manage.

  • Opt out of the old parent circle and opt for the new parent circle for this sub circle.

Let's take a look at an example: here I'd like to add circle Recordings to the circle Program content.

I go inside the Recordings circle, click on Manage and select Additional settings.

Here's what I see in the Parent circle settings:

I choose opt out of Awareness in action and opt for Program content.

Max number of people who can join this circle

With this setting you can limit the number of people who can get registered for the circle.

Did this answer your question?